Henry Guerra Lifetime Achievement Award for Excellence in Journalism

Launched in 2001, this award is named after San Antonio broadcast pioneer, community leader and local historian, Henry Guerra. Potential candidates for this award must meet the following Criteria:

  •  An individual from the San Antonio or South Texas area who is distinguished in the field of journalism.
  • An individual who has contributed to improving and enlightening the community at large.
  • An individual who has effected change for the betterment of the Hispanic community.
  • An individual who has served as a “bridge of understanding” between all communities.
  • An individual who has always maintained the highest standards of integrity and professionalism.

Henry Guerra Lifetime Achievement Award Past Recipients

YearAward RecipientMedia Outlet
2019Antonio GuillenKWEX-TV
2018Elaine AyalaSan Antonio Express-News
2017John W. GonzalezSan Antonio Express-News
2016Maggie Rivas-RodriguezUniversity of Texas at Austin
2015Michael QuintanillaSan Antonio Express-News
2014John QuiñonesABC News
2013Monica NavarroUnivision
2012Jesse DegolladoKSAT-TV
2011Mexican JournalistsVarious Media Outlets
2010Martha TijerinaKWEX-TV
2009Maria Elena Torralva-AlonsoSan Antonio Light
2008Elizabeth RuizKTSA 550 AM
2007Charles KilpatrickSan Antonio Express-News
2006Lionel SosaBromley Communications
2005Emilio Nicolas Sr.KWEX-TV
2004Pedro and Cruz Cortez Mi Tierra Café
2003Veronica Salazar EscobedoHearst Corp.
2002Tino DuranLa Prensa
2001Henry GuerraWOAI-TV

Community Service Award

SAAHJ’s Community Service Award is given each year to recognize an exemplary community servant — individual or group — that has made significant contributions to San Antonio and/or South Texas in a wide range of fields, including the media, education, government, business, arts and culture, politics, science and technology or philanthropy. The individual or group can be actively engaged in such work or be retired from it. Community Service Award recipients are nominated and voted on by active, dues-paying members of the San Antonio Association of Hispanic Journalists. Honorees must be present to win the award.

SAAHJ Community Service Award Past Recipients

2019Catholic Charities Archdiocese of San Antonio, Inc.Selected for their role in helping reunite Central American migrant parents with their children, who had been separated from them at the U.S.-Mexico border under Trump administration policy.
2018American Indians of Texas at the Spanish Colonial MissionsWith the Alamo City celebrating its tricentennial in 2018, this group was in the community spotlight.
2017Refugee and Immigrant Center for Education and Legal Services (RAICES)Headquartered in San Antonio, RAICES is the largest immigration legal services provider in Texas.
2016Maria Antonietta BerriozábalThe first Mexican-American woman elected to the San Antonio City Council
2015Mexican American Legal Defense and Educational Fund (MALDEF)Formed in 1968 and headquartered in San Antonio, MALDEF is a national non-profit civil rights organization that protects the rights of Latinos in the United States
2014Henry CisnerosFormer mayor of San Antonio
2013Karen Martinez
2012Father David Garcia
2011Jesus Rangel
2010Rosie CastroPolitical activist and the mother of U.S. Congressman Joaquin Castro and former San Antonio Mayor Julian Castro
2009Chicano Walkout Students of 1968
2008Patricia Diaz Dennis

Corazón de Oro Award

Launched in 2014, SAAHJ’s Corazón de Oro Award honors an individual in the arts whose work and leadership reflects positively on the U.S. Latino experience and/or who explores Latino perspectives.  The Corazón de Oro Award was conceived as a national award given to San Antonians (and potentially non-San Antonians) who have made a national impact on the U.S. Latino community philanthropically, politically, culturally, educationally, or socially. The recipient will have made financial or social contributions that have influenced U.S. Latinos broadly and significantly in their fields. The recipient will have “un corazón de oro,” referring to the Mexican or Spanish-language phrase, literally, someone with a heart of gold.

Corazón de Oro Past Recipients

2019Maria HinojosaReporter for NPR's Latino USA
2018Carmen Yulín CruzMayor of San Juan, Puerto Rico
2017Jim AcostaCNN White House Correspondent
2016Little Joe HernandezTejano Singer
2015Vikki CarrPop Singer
2014Robert RodriguezFilmmaker