Annual Awards

The Henry Guerra Lifetime Achievement Award for Excellence in Journalism

This award is named after San Antonio broadcast pioneer, community leader and local historian, Henry Guerra. Potential candidates for this award must meet the following Criteria:

  •  An individual from the San Antonio or South Texas area who is distinguished in the field of journalism.
  • An individual who has contributed to improving and enlightening the community at large.
  • An individual who has effected change for the betterment of the Hispanic community.
  • An individual who has served as a “bridge of understanding” between all communities.
  • An individual who has always maintained the highest standards of integrity and professionalism.

Community Service Award

SAAHJ’s Community Service Award is given each year to recognize an exemplary community servant — individual or group — that has made significant contributions to San Antonio and/or South Texas in a wide range of fields, including the media, education, government, business, arts and culture, politics, science and technology or philanthropy. The individual or group can be actively engaged in such work or be retired from it. Community Service Award recipients are nominated and voted on by active, dues-paying members of the San Antonio Association of Hispanic Journalists. Honorees must be present to win the award. Past recipients include longtime political and community activist Rosie Castro; the Cortez Family of Mi Tierra, Pico de Gallo and La Margarita restaurants; former New York Times reporter and Anheuser-Busch executive Jesus Rangel; Father David Garcia, senior advisor of clergy outreach on the national staff of Catholic Relief Services and archdiocesan director of the Old Spanish Missions; and the young Mexican American activists and students who participated in the historic school walkouts of 1968 that brought to light inadequate and unequal educational opportunities for students in predominantely low-income Latino neighborhoods.

Corazon de Oro Award

SAAHJ’s Corazon de Oro Award honors an individual in the arts whose work and leadership reflects positively on the U.S. Latino experience and/or who explores Latino perspectives.  The Corazon de Oro Award was conceived as a national award given to San Antonians (and potentially non-San Antonians) who have made a national impact on the U.S. Latino community philanthropically, politically, culturally, educationally, or socially. The recipient will have made financial or social contributions that have influenced U.S. Latinos broadly and significantly in their fields. The recipient will have “un corazon de oro,” referring to the Mexican or Spanish-language phrase, literally, someone with a heart of gold.

See who we’ve honored in the past:

SAAHJ Honors Karen Martinez with Community Service Award in 2013

Jessie Degollado Receives The Henry Guerra Lifetime Achievement Award For Excellence In Journalism in 2012

SAAHJ Tribute to Mexican Journalists in 2011

SAAHJ 2011 Community Service Award goes to Jesus Rangel

Martha Tijerina honored with Lifetime Achievement Award in 2010

Emilio Nicolas Sr. is given the SAAHJ Lifetime Achievement Award in early 2000s