SAAHJ Bylaws

Article 1. Name

The name of the organization is the San Antonio Association of  Hispanic Journalists. The principal office for the transaction of  business of the corporation is located in the State of Texas, County of Bexar.

Article 2. Purpose.

The purpose of the San Antonio Association of Hispanic Journalists is to:

1.      Provide networking opportunities for Hispanics in journalism and communications careers

2.      Help develop Hispanic leaders in journalism

3.      Advance and be an advocate for Hispanics in journalism and communications careers

4.      Encourage Hispanics to consider and pursue journalism and communications professions.

Article 3. Membership

Journalists membership:

General membership is open to all professionals in electronic and  print media who support themselves principally from income earned in  the gathering, editing or presentation of news. All general members are eligible to vote and hold office.  Annual dues are twenty-five (25) dollars.

Communications membership:

Communications membership is open to journalism educators, professionals in advertising and public relations, freelancers.   Communications members are eligible to vote and can hold office except  for that of President or Vice President. Annual dues are twenty-five (25) dollars.

Student membership:

Student membership is open to high school and college students  involved in the study of communications.  Student members may not vote or hold office.  Annual dues are ten (10) dollars.

Supporting membership:

Supporting membership is open to entities that support the goals of  the Association. There shall be two classes of supporting members.

A.      Individual, whose annual dues shall be one-hundred (100) dollars.

B.      Corporate, whose annual dues shall be five-hundred (500) dollars.

Article 4. Membership requirements:

1.      Annual dues must be renewed by date of officer elections in July.

2.      Dues must be up-to-date for a member to vote on Association issues or elections.

3.             The membership fees may be modified by a two-thirds vote of eligible members present at a meeting.

Article 5. Meetings and Elections

A.      Association meetings shall be held a minimum of six times a year.  Additional meetings may be called at the discretion of the President  and/or majority of the officers. All meetings and an official agenda must be posted to the general membership at least ten (10) days in advance.

B.      Annual election of officers shall take place in July. Nominations will be received at the June meeting.  Should an officer resign a  post, a special election will be called within thirty (30) days.

C.      A quorum of at least five-eighths of the elected officers is required to conduct association business at an officially called meeting posted to the general membership.

Article 6. Organizational Structure

All officers may serve no more than two consecutive terms per office.  Officers may serve on any of the association committees.

President: The Association president must be a working electronic or print journalist. He/She presides over meetings and develops the working agenda. He/she is the organizations’ official spokesperson.  The president appoints committee chairs and members to assist with committee assignments.

Vice-President: The vice-president must be a working electronic or print journalist. He/She shall assume all duties of the president in the event of the absence or disability of the president.

Secretary: The secretary shall attend all meetings and will keep a book of minutes of meetings of the members and the directors. The secretary will keep a record of membership, showing names of all members, their addresses, type of membership and a record showing dues payments. The secretary shall be responsible for ensuring the membership receives meeting notices by mail, email or telephone.

Treasurer: The treasurer shall keep a record of all financial transactions by the association including:

1.      making deposits of all money in the name and to the credit of the Association;

2.      disbursing funds at the order of the officers and;

3.      making available to the officers whenever requested, an account of all transactions and the condition of the financial condition of the Association.

At-Large Print

At-Large Broadcast

At-Large Communications

Article 7. Removal or Resignation of Officers

Any elected officer may resign his/her post by providing a letter of resignation to the President and officers.

The President may resign by submitting their resignation to the full board of Officers.

Any elected officer may be removed by a majority vote of members present at the regular monthly meeting.

Committee chairs may be removed by the President without any vote.

Officers may be subject to removal for missing three meetings per year.  If an Officer is unable to attend a scheduled meeting, he/she must inform any one of the other officers with ample time for their responsibilities to be assumed/assigned to someone else for the meeting.

Vacancies of any elected position can only be filled by special election.

Article 8. Committees

The Association will have several standing committees:

·       Writing Contest

·       Publicity

·       Scholarship/Banquet

·       Website

·       Membership

·       Professional Development

·       Student Activities

The President will appoint ad-hoc committees as necessary.  All  committee chairs and members must be current Association members.

Article 9. Amendments to the By-Laws

·       The Association by-laws may be amended by recommending changes at a regular monthly meeting. Amendments will be voted on once a year during the officer elections. Proxy votes and/or electronic voting are not permitted. A special by-laws vote can be called at other times by the Board of Directors.

·       Proposed changes must be presented in writing to the general membership through the secretary at least thirty (30) days before an amendment vote.

·       Amendments may be approved by two-thirds vote of the general membership present at the meeting.

These by-laws were approved by the members of the San Antonio Association of Hispanic Journalists at their annual meeting on July 21, 2001, in San Antonio, Texas.