SAAHJ Scholarship & Awards Gala 2016

The San Antonio Association of Hispanic Journalists (SAAHJ) will host its 18th annual gala starting at 6 p.m. on Friday, August 19, 2016, at the Grand Hyatt along the River Walk in downtown San Antonio.

This year, SAAHJ will honor UT Journalism Professor Maggie Rivas-Rodriguez for excellence in journalism. Former San Antonio City Councilwoman Maria Antonietta Berriozabal will receive our community service award and Tejano singer Little Joe Hernandez will receive the Corazón de Oro award.

The fun, celebrity-studded event brings out prominent community leaders and professionals for a night of camaraderie and celebration, recognizing accomplished Latino role models and shining a spotlight on our youth.

Together, we encourage and support higher education. Over the last 18 years, more than 150 students have received awards for college ranging from $500 to $5,000. This year, SAAHJ will award $40,000 in scholarships at the gala, thanks to funds raised by the annual event.

Table sponsorship levels are $7,500, $5,000, $2,500 and $1,500. Individual tickets are $125, which includes a one-year membership in SAAHJ. Members buying individual tickets get a $25 discount.

For more information on sponsorships, contact Elaine Ayala at (210) 250-3402.

Click here to buy your ticket